Lilith & Lulu

7 Mountain Records

Available now!

Order here: or

CD – Tipp on BR Klassik

It is a 60-minute long musical narrative that guides the listener through a dark and mystifying journey. It is there, in this darkness, that the listener meets with the beautiful song and scary sounds of the two night creatures: Lilith & Lulu

Lilith was Adam’s first wife. She was expelled from the Garden of Eden because she refused to submit to her husband. Lilith was then replaced by Eve and returned as the snake, one of her many transformations. Lulu , created by the playwright Frank Wedekind, was a woman born in a broken and patriarchal society. She was taken advantage of because of her raw femininity, forced even to prostitution, while she remained faithful to her nature and desires. Lulu is portrayed so ambiguously by Wedekind and later by Alban Berg that she can be interpreted either as an innocent victim or a femme fatale. Lilith and Lulu share the same blood. It is a shift in humanity’s perspective: the supernatural Lilith seen as a demon of desolate places returns as the human Lulu, formed and corroded by modern civilization, bound for self-destruction. They are two sides of the same coin” (from the booklet)

The booklet includes also interviews with William Bolcom, Nadir Vassena and Sam David Wamper.

Full tracklist:

William Bolcom (1938)
Lilith (1984)
1. I. The Female Demon [3:23]
2. II. Succuba [2:40]
3. III. Will-o’-the-Whisp [1:33]
4. IV. Child-Stealer [3:05]
5. V. The Night Dance 3:39

Nadir Vassena (1970)
Nocturnes I-III für Altsaxophon und Klavier (1993)
6. Nocturne I [6:39]
7. Nocturne II [5:49]

Sam David Wamper (1983)
Portrait of Lilith (2018)
8. The Storm [6:14]
9. The Serpent and the Bird [4:47]
10. The Seductress [8:54]

Alban Berg (1885-1935)
Vier Stücke, Op.5 (arr.) (1913)
11. I. Mäßig [1:24]
12. II. Sehr langsam [2:20]
13. III. Sehr rasch [1:09]
14. IV. Sehr langsam [3:19]

Lulu-Suite: symphonische Stücke aus der Oper Lulu (arr.) (1934)
15. III. Lied der Lulu [2:53]
16. IV. Variations [3:07]

I’ve been sent the recording of a poetic and finely detailed performance of Lilith by Duo Mader/Papandreopoulos and I am quite impressed with its depth of focus, rare in the many ones I’ve heard over the years. Bravi!

William Bolcom, composer of “Lilith


Release concerts:

4th of March, 20:00 – Amstelkerk, Amsterdam NL (Adults 15€ | Students, <30 7,50€ Tickets)

30th of March, 19:30 – Landesmusikschule Kitzbühel AUT (free entrance)

1st of April, 20:00 – Haus der Musik Innsbruck AUT (free entrance, registration here)

14th of April, 19:00 – Austrian Residence, Den Haag NL (tickets available soon)